He still speaks

DSCN3480

Watering:

For he spoke, and it came to be;
    he commanded, and it stood firm. Psalm 33:9

 

Watching:

God spoke and it came to be – tangible. reliable. unshakeable

God still speaks

and his word still creates

and his word still brings firm ground for my wobbly knees.

Wondering:

There is nothing wish-washy in what God speaks.

Yet if I’m the only one doing the talking – filling up the quiet with my own running-at-the-mouth words…

then I am missing out on God’s most creative power: His living word to me.

 

 

Be still and listen

“If my people would only listen to me, if Israel would only follow my ways” Psalm 81:13

whoever listens to me will live in safety and be at ease, without fear of harm.” Proverbs 1:33

Now then, my sons, listen to me; do not turn aside from what I say. Proverbs 5:7

Now then, my sons, listen to me; pay attention to what I say. Proverbs 7:24

Blessed are those who listen to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorway. Proverbs 8:34

 

Be still and know

Be still before the Lord, all mankind, because he has roused himself from his holy dwelling.” Zechariah 2:13

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; Psalm 37:7

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10

The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14

 

 In turning and rest is your salvation,

in quietness and confidence is your strength.

 

Waiting:

Today Jesus, I will be still and I will listen. Lord, let your word bring life to these dry bones, form to this lump of clay, beauty to these ashes.

Watering Today Prov 16; Psalm 33; Deuteronomy 30-31;  1 Corinthians 1

DSCN2373

2 comments on “He still speaks

  1. ilahmarie says:

    This is so needed, to be reminded to get down and quiet. It goes along with the chapter in my book, “To Listen” and another one, “Working Together.” Jesus loves it when we get quiet and tune in to Him, not our ideas or circumstances. Thanks for posting this. So helpful on a Monday when I was awake in middle of last night with too many voices clamoring around in my head.

Leave a Reply

