Unshaken

DSCN2437

Watering:

Whoever does these things
will never be shaken.

David said about him: “‘I saw the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Watching:

David knew who he was.

More importantly David knew who God was.

“God is not a man, that He should lie,
Nor a son of man, that He should repent.
Has He said, and will He not do?
Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good? (Numbers 23:3-19)

And most importantly, David knew who he was in God.

He was chosen, accepted, loved, forgiven, a conqueror, a warrior,  a child, a son, a king.

God had proven himself faithful over and over and over again in David’s life. Fighting bears. Tackling lions. Killing giants. Building strength. Vanquishing darkness. Revealing Truth. Picking up the pieces after the darkest of failures.

Over and over and over again, there was God – loving the shepherd boy who would be king.

And in the over and over-ness of a faithful God, David’s rap root went deep. And he would not be shaken.

Wondering:

The wind is picking up lately in my heart of hearts. Not sure the why of it…discontent? restless? focused on the everydays instead of the forevers… ?

But it doesn’t really matter what the feeling though,

because Life marches on

and feelings change and sometimes there’s just the chill of a windy sidelines.

And yet,here’s the deal. Not being shaken does not mean that there is no shaking. In fact, I’d say,”There’s a whole lot of shaking goin’ on.”

…Shaking is inevitable, but being shaken is not.

I climbed a mountain in Zion last year. Or rather I should say, I crept my way – hand hold to white-knuckling hand hold on an anchored chain that bore deep into the mountain side. That chain was my lifeline between exhilaration and a certain death. “Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

Every part of me grasped that chain, knowing full well the foolishness if I did not.“Cast your cares on me because I WILL SUSTAIN YOU.”

If I could have grasped the entire rock and melded into its strength, I would have. But I had only the lifeline and my confidence in the one who created it: I will not let the righteous be shaken.

And we – the weak-kneed, wind blown sojourners – are His righteousness: “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Cor. 5:21)

David saw the Lord always before him within the reach of his right hand. A solid Lifeline. Unflinching. Unshakeable Truth. Going deep, deep and deeper still. Tapping into the unquenchable love of God.

Jesus – the Way, with nails driven deep, lashed to Solid Rock Hope.

Jesus – the Truth, holding steady. Firm. Unmovable.

Jesus – Life beyond the shakes … found deep in the heart of God.

 

Waiting:

Lord, I will hold on to your word.

Cast your cares on the Lord
and he will sustain you;
he will never let
the righteous be shaken. (Ps 55)

More Word to white-knuckle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiYq7dAYrd0DSCN2436

 

Leave a Reply

