Done

DSCN3723 K7A1434F70FC78_1001466

Watering:

 

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.

Watching:

 

David is having an inner battle… What he sees to be true on the outside of things, and what he knows to be true in the Lord.

Back and forth, back and forth he wrestles.

And then he makes a declaration,

Soul, you are disturbed and you feel downcast

But I am telling you

here and now

get over the pity party. Put your hope in God. Because I am going to praise him in the midst of all that is going on, I am going to praise him

 (and honestly, truth be known, I am just so sick of listening to you.)

 

Wondering:

My biggest battles have always been on the inside. Isn’t that really the case? Great coaches have always said, the battle is mental. Win that victory and you win.

I can argue with myself until I’m green in the face, but the victory comes when I stop arguing and just start praising.

 Soul, you’ve said your peace. You’ve declared your owies. Now seriously, shut up. Jesus wins. No more pity parties here. Get up, shake it off. Splash some cold water… whatever it takes.

NOW, put your hope where it belongs… in God, the maker of heaven and earth. The Creator. The One who knows the beginning from the end. The One who speaks and it is done. God Almighty. Father. Friend. Love itself.

because, Soul, with or without you, I’m starting up the band

 and I will yet praise him: My Savior, the One who rescues me. My God.

 

Waiting:

Lord, honestly, I’m done. Done with the pity party. Done with the squirming and the whining. Done with all the ‘stupid stuff’ that distracts me from what I know to be True in you. I will put my hope in you, and I will praise you. Period.

Watering Today

prov 21; ps 42, 43; 1 Samuel 24; Psalms 57-58; 1 Chronicles 8; Matthew 8

DSCN3817

 

Leave a Reply

