Even though

532528_3610932064196_393186069_n

Watering:

So, as the Holy Spirit says:

“Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts
as you did in the rebellion,
during the time of testing in the wilderness,
where your ancestors tested and tried me,
though for forty years they saw what I did.

Watching:

 

“… during the time of testing”  the Lord gave proof of his faithfulness, proof of his provision and proof of his care and guidance. Daily in-your-face proof.

“… during the time of testing”  the Lord was patient (in that forbearing way of his). He had a bigger plan, an eternal plan – but the Israelites couldn’t see beyond their noses.

“… during the time of testing” God saved, fed, watered, and clothed his children.

And yet, even though they saw what He did for forty years

 

… they never really saw past their bellies.

 

Wondering:

So what about me?

For 56 years, God has surrounded me with his faithfulness and for 33 of those years I’ve wrapped myself warm in the blanket of His name.

But even though, for these many years I have seen what He’s done, like the children of Israel,

… too often I grumble and complain, looking for the cheese to go with all my whine

… too often I forget the parted waters, the manna, the quail, the shoes that never wear out… the pillow under my head, the sun streaming through my window, the wonder of breathing without thought

… too often I forget that my “promised land” is right in front of my eyes, smack dab in the middle of my camp:

God with me.

Not what He gives, but who. He. is.

He is my promise maker,

my promise keeper

… my Dad, leading me home.

and His presence alone is my promised land.

 

Waiting:

Lord, I will remind myself of all that you’ve done, and all that you are. You are God, alone, and I will praise you.

 

Watering Today

Hebrews 3; Isaiah 8,9,10

DSCN0766

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

