Fixing my gaze

K7A1434F70FC78_1001225 (1)

Watering:

Let your eyes look straight ahead;
    fix your gaze directly before you.
 Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
    and be steadfast in all your ways.

 

Watching:

This is a father writing his son about things he’s learned on this path called Life.

This is a father who’s been in a few ‘rodeos’ of his own – he knows the ropes – and he’s hoping beyond hope that his son will listen and learn

This is a father hoping desperately “Hard Knocks” isn’t the only school around.

 

Wondering:

I’m in the start of a new school year. My first year, after 10, with a new grade – the top of the heap 5th grade – where they (and I) desperately need more wisdom.

My heart is still nervous. Will I expect enough? … be kind enough? … be fun enough? Will I be ME enough?

I love the quiet of the early morning to get my soul on straight… so much spirit food. to weed out the “me” and plant more Jesus.

But honestly, today, I was really hoping for looking for some nitty gritty classroom how-to. I’m desperate.

… and here in the Father’s heart for me, I find it:

 

Let your eyes look straight ahead;

fix your gaze directly before you.

Sweetheart, look straight ahead. You don’t have to look around like a scared rabbit spying out their best and quickest escape. You don’t have to “steal” others’ ideas – You can stop looking back and forth, to and fro, left and right, for something “better” … (Remember?Yyou get vertigo that way. Straight ahead, sweetheart. Fix your eyes on me. I got your front and I got your back. I’m your Dad – Creator God. I got the goods to help you be creative. You can trust me.

Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
and be steadfast in all your ways.  

And as far as the other teaching stuff? Just do what you do. Give careful thought (not incessant, not manic, not wimpified) … and then stick to it. Be steadfast. Be consistent. Be dependable.

Routines infused with joy.

You are more than a teacher for these kiddos, Jane … You are me with skin on.

So,  BE me with skin on.

Love me.

Love them.

We got this.

 

Waiting:

Oh Lord, father, savior, creator, friend – I trust you. Help fix my gaze on you. Help me know when my thinking time has been enough time… I don’t want my brain to be too-long-in-the-microwave, overworked leather.

 

Watering Today

Prov 4; ps 4, 104, 44, 64; Ezekiel 22-24; Revelation 9; Phil 1-4

K7A1434F70FC78_1001272

 

2 comments on “Fixing my gaze

  1. pat whitson says:

    I love you, sis. I’m proud of you too. You inspire me to keep my eyes focused on God too. Thank you for your faithfulness with praying, meditating, thinking, creating, and then writing this blog. Hugs, Trish

Leave a Reply

