Until I do

holding-hands

Watering:

Because you are my help,
    I sing in the shadow of your wings.
 I cling to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

Psalm 63

 

Watching:

There is always reason to praise.

even from a hiding place

even in the clinging to a wing and a prayer

even as the road buckles underneath each step

 

In his hand, there is always reason to sing.

 

Wondering:

There have been times in my life when praise to the God I love has laid me out in a great way a flat-on-my-face takedown of thankfulness gushing from every pore.

And there have been other times when just being able to stumble out from under the covers has been the height of gratitude for the day – barely.

Yet in each scenario, etched deep into my heart’s Memorial Wall, I remember.

I remember the “Dark Days” and the black tunnel of sadness I could not explain

I remember the threatening Void that tried to swallow me whole.

I remember the hopeless words that ran like a raging river through my head, “Something’s wrong with me. Something’s wrong with me. Something’s wrong with me.” Chiseled into the gravestone, like a scene from Scrooge’s grim future, hope seemed lost forever.

 

But God…

 

But God, my Sweet Nazarene, met me right where I was. He scooped me up and held me tight. Even as I fell at his feet screaming and waving tightened fist, “I won’t leave until you touch me!”… he stilled me.

And then, scattering the Black that had threatened to take me out, Jesus resuscitated every part of me

– His breath of Life pushed deep into my gasping lungs.

 

I remember.

I will not forget.

 

There is always reason to praise.

Real praise.

Honest praise.

Sometimes for the profound,

more often for the simple…

There is always reason to praise.

 

And every morning I determine: I won’t leave this chair

… until I do.

 

Waiting:

Jesus,  I love this  adventure I’m on, strapped in next to you – your hand in mine. Let my life be all you have imagined and created it to be. How ’bout we just  start with today.

 

Watering Today

Prov 30; ps 30, 130, 63; Ezekiel 20-21; Revelation 8; 2 thes 1-3

 

rollercoaster

 

Leave a Reply

