Coming Clean

hidingjimeejackietomasha

Watering:

But as for me, my feet had almost slipped;
I had nearly lost my foothold.
For I envied the arrogant
when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

….When I tried to understand all this,
it troubled me deeply
 till I entered the sanctuary of God;

Watching:

I think the thing I love most about David is: he always fesses up.

Always.

He never pulls any punches with God about his fallen nature.

He never accepts the Good of God, without exchanging the Bad of his humanity.

He never hides his questions, or doubts, his frustrations or royal rage

… on his knees, on his face, on his final straw, David lays it all out at the feet of God every. time.

and David never leaves the presence of God until he is left changed

 

from the inside out.

 

David knows where to go to come clean.

 

….When I tried to understand all this,
it troubled me deeply
 till I entered the sanctuary of God

Psalm 73

Wondering:

I wonder how often I rant and rave just outside the sanctuary’s threshold.

It is just so stinkin’ easy to get caught up in the frenzy of the marketplace… opinions flying, deals making, positions arguing. And either you find yourself joining in, or hiding away – mumbling and grumbling in the privacy with like-minded ranters.

But the truth is, whether we call ourselves Children of the Light or not, it’s all the same outside the sanctuary:

troubles brew

            ranters rage

            and Truth is trampled in the crowd.

 

When I tried to understand all this,
it troubled me deeply
 till I entered the sanctuary of God

 

Change only happens when

we walk through his gate and start remembering who we are and whose we are  and let thankfulness bubble up from a heart forgiven.

 

Power only happens when

we move further toward our Maker, and lay it all on the line: a life ready to sacrifice itself on the altar of praise.

 

Transformation only happens when we approach his throne boldly on bended knee,

letting our humanity be washed in his loved poured out,

grasping the robe he’s placed on our shoulders,

seeing his eyes crown us with compassion.

 

Life only happens

when we know where to go to come clean.

 

Waiting:

Jesus, it is never about us; It is always about you and your great love. I will enter your gates with thanksgiving, and your courts with praise and I will walk boldly on bended knee to the One who holds my heart in his hand. (Psalm 100)

 

P1000566

Leave a Reply

