Who is this God?

 

 

P1000316

 

Watering:

Who is this King of glory?
The Lord strong and mighty,
the Lord mighty in battle.

Watching:

David needed God.

And he needed God in some very big circumstances.

 

But David wasn’t looking for a warm, fuzzy, genie-in-a-bottle deity.

He needed the Almighty God, the Conquering King

and he needed him on his battlefield.

 

… so David asks himself to remind himself

“Who is this King of Glory?”

 

Wondering:

When I look into the eyes of my enemy, my pea brain humanity – gripped with that in-your-face kind of fear – will limit God every time. Every time.

Yet, when I look into the face of God, I see a God who is on my side, who has promised to never leave or forsake me. Who calls me more than a conqueror and tells me I can overcome because he already did.

Our God is not a wimp.

The battle IS real, but He fights for us.

The enemy IS fierce, but God is more.

 

Who is this King of glory?

He is the One who has already won. The One whose whisper stills storms, the One who still stands down the wind. He is the One who said, “It is finished.” And means it. Then calmly rolls back the stone and shows it.

He is the One who cleans my hands,

replaces my blackened broken heart with his,

picks me up and places me on a high rock – a large, secure place – to keep my feet from stumbling.

This King

is Conqueror.

His hand is not too short that it cannot save.

He is on my side. And He is worthy of my trust.

He is the Great I Am

bringing life to dry bones,

bringing hope to dying dreams,

bringing joy beyond our “temporary afflictions.”

Who is this King of Glory?

He is strong and mighty in battle

and He fights for me.

He is Abba, Father

and calls me his own

… in Him, I can rest.

Waiting:

And so, Lord, today I will rest. In the shadow of your wing, in my great and might refuge, in the palm of your hand, today I will rest.

Common sparrow

 

Leave a Reply

